Election System in India

Election System in India

Election System in India is to conduct the periodical election through the election people judge the functioning of the ruling party and ignore corrupt politicians by not voting for them. In India, all the citizens above the age of 18 have been given the right to vote in the election. People above the age of 25 contest in the elections. The electoral system in India has been adapted from the system in the “United Kingdom.

Types of Elections in India

In India, people elect their representative candidate of the political party through direct and Indirect elections.

Direct Elections.

People directly vote for the candidates on the fray and elect their representatives. (Example)Loksabha elections. Elections to the Legislative state Assembly. Elections to the members of the village panchayat. panchayat Union. District Panchayat, Town Panchayat. Municipality and.
Corporation. Elections to the president of the village panchayat, Elections to the chairman of Town panchayat and municipality, Elections to the mayor of the corporations

Indirect Elections.

Voters elect their representatives, who, in turn. elect their representatives to formal offices,(Example): President Election, vice President election, election to the members of Rajya Sabha, elections to the members of state legislative council, election to the vice president of the village panchayat. elections to the vice-chairman of the Panchayat union. District Panchayat, Town Panchayat, and Municipality, election to the vice mayor corporation.

General Election.
The election of the state legislature or the parliament after the completion of its tenure of 5 years.

By-Election held When an elected candidate from a constituency dies or resigns from the parliament or the state legislature, under these circumstances election will be held only in those conditions.

Election Commission Of India.
The Election commission Of India is situated in New Delhi and it is a permanent and independent constitutional body. It is also known as “Nirvachan Sadan”. The Election Commission of India was established under the constitution on 25th January 1950. (January 25 is celebrated as National Voters day) The election commission of India conducts an election to (Rajya sabha and Lok sabha, state legislatures (Legislative council and legislative Assembly). The office of president of India and office of vice president of India shall be vested in the ECI. The ECI consists of three members with chief Election commissioners and 2 Commissioners. They are appointed by the president.

From 1950 to 15 October 1989 election commission has a single Chief Election Commissioner. The president appointed Two election commissioners to work along with the chief election Commissioner with the increased work of the election commission on an account of lowering the voting age from 21 to 18 years.

The Chief election commissioner and two other election commissioners have equal powers and receive equal salary, Allowances which are similar to a supreme court judge. They Hold the office for the term of 6 years or until they attain the age of whichever is earlier. They can resign at any time or can also be removed from the service before the expiry of the Tenure.

Tags: , , , ,
Leave your comment